“the brand new tangled web you’re spinning”

Thank you notes crack me up. My parents never insisted on them when I was growing up – which caused more than one fight between my mom and my aunt. Heathens, those Schimmer girls, I tell you. So maybe I’m just not used to them.

Anyway, when I receive a thank you note from someone, I am overwhelmed by their thoughtful expression of gratitude. And I have an urge to respond in kind – to send them a nice note thanking them for the thank you note.

Which would then escalate into a thank you stand off. Neither one of us would want to let the other go unthanked, so we’d thank back and forth, with longer notes and maybe even little gifts, forever.

I need to get out more.

Leave a Reply

