“and i don’t know why your girl keeps paging me”

I got a postcard today. All the way from Toronto. And it doesn’t even matter that the sender is actually back from Toronto and has been for a week – there’s something about knowing that someone thought of you while they were away. Postcards are great.

If I ever travel anywhere besides Albuquerque (for work) and home for the holidays, I fully intend to postcard the hell out of my friends.

I’m not much of a traveler. I’m sort of anxious and usually broke, and I’ve been working constantly since graduation. There are places I’d like to see, of course, but something always seems more pressing, like, an upcoming presidential election (to pick a totally random example out of the air…).

So I’ve been in a funk lately. It’s not the blues, where everything is kind of sad and mopey. It’s more like everything is super irritating. I am equally annoyed by the sunshine and clouds. By being alone and being with people. By having too much to do at work and not having enough to do. It’s hopeless, and I’m getting tired of living with myself.

So my goal for the weekend is to de-funkify.

Step one: listening to Lily Allen in the canvass office with Katie. Check.

Step two: starting yoga class on Saturday.

Step three: Enjoying the sunshine before it snows on Sunday.

I probably have some strong opinions about the state of the world, but I will have to share them later as I am now going to smoke a cigarette.

Leave a Reply

