“make you my golden state goddess”

So I am not always up on the pop culture. And right now I am listening to “Celebration” by Kanye West for the first time. It reminded me of a party I went to a few years ago, where some really annoying girl kept yelling “It’s a celebration, bitches!” and I hated her a lot for it.

To that girl:

For the record, I still think you are stupid. But I am sorry that I did not get your Kanye West reference.

I also found a brilliant, brilliant article on Alternet today

I will not miss the deafening, depressing silence of Democratic National Committee Chairman Howard Dean or other leading Democrats, who to my knowledge (with the exception of Sen. Barbara Mikulski of Maryland) haven’t publicly uttered a word of outrage at the unrelenting, sex-based hate that has been hurled at a former first lady and two-term senator from New York. Among those holding their tongues are hundreds of Democrats for whom Clinton has campaigned and raised millions of dollars.

This is what I have been thinking but unable to articulate.

I don’t adore Hillary Clinton. I respect her as a leader. She is my choice for the Democratic candidate. And I think she and Barack Obama have shown a lot of courage in challenging America’s deeply ingrained yet unacknowledged prejudices, in just about the most public forum possible.

I don’t want to enter the debate that’s been raging on feminist blogs – which candidate is more disadvantaged, whether racism or sexism is more dangerous/insidious. I just don’t think it’s productive.

But I wish I was hearing outrage about the treatment of both candidates anywhere besides blogs. I like blogs. I learn a lot from them. But I think of them as secondary to off-line organizing and activism. And I wish that all of the intelligent women in Congress would stand up publicly and announce that shit is fucked up and we’re not gonna put up with it anymore.

One thought on ““make you my golden state goddess”

Leave a Reply

