verizon wireless appreciates your initiative

But only sort of. See my new job (read: same job with more hours and more stress) requires me to be on my cell phone a lot. So I bumped up my plan to the unlimited option – pricy, but much cheaper than the overage charges – when I was precisely three minutes away from going over. I felt proactive and responsible. One less thing to stress about.

And then I got my $340 phone bill. Verizon wireless doesn’t exactly bother to TELL you this, but by changing your plan mid-billing cycle, they pro-rate your plan backwards. Let me try to explain better: original plan = 900 minutes/month of which I had used 897. When I changed the plan to unlimited, Verizon chose to cap my minutes at a partial month, and changed my monthly allowance to 600 and change.

By upping my plan to unlimited, I went from being just under the wire on the previous plan to nearly 300 minutes over. Plus the charge for the unlimited plan. Plus $50 in extra text messages. (Certain people who send a lot of text messages should just switch to Verizon. I’m just sayin’.)

Since I am an American, I did the only logical, American thing: I called to complain.

The Verizon woman, who sounded all of 14, helpfully explained the policy of charging me $200 for changing my cell phone plan. But, since she valued my attempt at “helping” Verizon, even though I misunderstood the policy, she submitted a reversal for the charges.

Now I am not one to argue with people who are in control of things like my money or my cell phone. But I thought it was a little ridiculous that she thought I was motivated by affection for my wireless service rather than attempting to avoid the insane overage charges that they then heaped onto my account anyway. When I last checked, about half the overage charges had been reversed.

Anyway, I have a bunch of work to do. It appears I will not have time to blog much between now and November 4, 2008, so please look for my memoir in stores in early 2009.

One thought on “verizon wireless appreciates your initiative

Leave a Reply

