“i’ve got something that your fucking money cannot buy”

I totally did the thing I said I wasn’t going to do. I decided to go back to my old job after the election instead of looking for the new job and moving out of Denver. Why? Was I was overwhelmed by Hope and Change? Not really. By the time Election Day rolled around I was so desperate for anything approaching my normal life I conveniently forgot all the reasons I wanted to leave my job over the summer and decided I could do it again for at least six months…two of which are the holiday months so they barely count.

Meanwhile, I’m uninspired to write about my experiences working on the Election. If you were there, you know what it was like. If you weren’t there, you should have been. Instead, I offer a tabulation of what I have gained and lost since jumping onto the Hope Train in August.

– My hard drive with my last 2.5 years of work on it. Fuck.

– My entire computer. Dell tech is coming sometime this week to redo the whole thing.

– Approximately 15 pounds.

+ A new appreciation for M.I.A.’s “Paper Planes.” It’s still stuck in my head.

+ A possible stalker. HOW did the security guard from our office building get my cell phone number?

+ A working knowledge of precincts and their corresponding zip codes and counties for the greater Denver Metro Area.

– My digital camera. I forgot how things “disappear” in canvass offices.

+ The realization that I can accomplish things without being tied to a computer all day.

+ The realization that sleep can never be overrated.

+ A renewed interest in returning to the West Coast.

– My creativity. Not that I am super creative in the first place but I used to knit stuff and write stuff. What happened to that?

– My attention span. It took me a week to be able to sit down and focus on a book again.

– My patience. I def lost my temper more times during the last three months than in the last three years. And my normal pleasant nature has not fully returned yet.

+ A painful caffeine addiction.

+ A return to biting my nails.

+ A reminder that I only ever want to hang out with people who make me laugh.

+ Appreciation that even after I disappeared and did not call or text or email for three months, my friends still want to hang out with me.

That’s what I’ve got. Hopefully my creative mind turns back on soon and I will have more to say about all of it.

Leave a Reply

