Go, Veiga, go!

It’s Friday, it’s sunny, I’m getting really good at the guitar and I just got this in my inbox:

Senate Bill 88- Granting Insurance Benefits to Same-Sex Partners of State Employees

I am introducing a bill, alongside Rep. Mark Ferrandino, that would grant equal insurance benefits to same-sex partners of state employees.  This bill is necessary to help the state of compete with private sector companies and other states that have begun to offer these benefits.  Equally as important, this bill represents the need for fairness in the distribution of benefits granted to heterosexual employees and those granted to gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender state employees.  Cosponsor Rep. Ferrandino argues that this bill is “about equity and equality, and it’s about competing in the marketplace as more and more employers offer it.”

Fabulous. This is such a no-brainer and our state legislature will probably kill it, but Sen. Veiga is such a great champion and hard worker on these issues, I’m excited that it’s out there. I’m also stoked that transgender employees are included in her notes about the bill – it seems like they still get left out of people’s thoughts about equality or public statements about it. I live in a ridiculously liberal part of Denver, but I’m still proud that I get to be represented by Sen. Veiga.

Leave a Reply

