“i guess i’ll have to start getting my act together by then”

sometimes my job is awesome.

i mostly interview people, which can get old. and then you ask a question like “so, where do you want to be in your career in five years?”

…pause…

“five years? wow. i guess i’ll have to start getting my act together by then!”

i appreciate your honesty, but you might think about getting it together sooner if you want me to actually hire you.  in any case, it made me laugh and i’ve told the story several times this week. turns out, most people hate being asked where they see themselves in five years. and most people (at least people i am friends with) don’t actually know where they want to be five years from now.

i don’t actually have a five-year vision for my life, either. i don’t know if this is what i pictured five years ago – but given i was 22 and already working in a campaign office, it probably isn’t too far off the mark. good job, self.

this actually made me think about a conversation i had with my dad last december when i was home for the holidays. my family wants be back in california like woah. and they know that boston is not exactly sunshine, lollipops and rainbows for me. my dad’s question, actually, was “don’t you think it’s time you stopped flitting around the country and got settled somewhere?”

yeah. “flitting” –verb (used without object)

1. to move lightly and swiftly; fly, dart, or skim along: bees flitting from flower to flower.
2. to flutter, as a bird.
i am not a flitter. i have never flitted anywhere in my life, except maybe during a ballet class, but that’s sort of the point of the thing. i have moved states 3 times in 5 years but driving from denver to boston in a pink tercel is anything but a “flit.” and every time i have moved i’ve had a job waiting for me and it’s been a move up each time.
i guess i’m feeling defensive because i’m actually planning another move this year. i definitely can’t see myself settled in boston – it’s not that i need to see more of the country (although i’d like to). it’s just that boston is not home. i still plan on giving it the 18 months i planned to, but i don’t see it working out.
so i’m taking nominations now: where should i move next? and why?
Boston from the Waterfront

5/2/2010 - Boston from the Waterfont

Leave a Reply

