beer club confidential

I’m days behind on this post, so I’m doing a roundup of the beers we drank. I can’t do as much of a review, since I didn’t start taking notes until we were into round 4. Apologies – I’ll do better next time.

The reincarnation of DC Beer Club is plodding along. Turns out the Wednesday before a holiday weekend is maybe not the best for people. Last Wednesday was the second DC Beer Club I’ve hosted, at Pizzeria Paradiso in Dupont Circle. The main criteria for summer beer club locations is a good beer selection and a patio. PP has both of those things, although the patio is pretty tiny and pretty crowded on Wednesday night. It was fine for the two of us,  but if we’d had more people, we probably would have had quite a wait.

Foodwise, I really enjoyed the Siciliana pizza without cheese (tomato, zucchini, eggplant, peppers, onion, capers, garlic and oregano – I’m trying to take the lactose intolerant thing more seriously). My friend Jim had a Bruschetta  with fresh mozzarella and cherry tomatoes. Okay, onto the beer.

My first, and easily the favorite beer of the evening was Avery’s Majaraja. This was the best that either of us tasted, because a. it’s from Colorado (where all the best beer is born) and b. it’s totally delicious. The Majaraja is part of the Dictator Series. It’s a seasonal Imperial IPA. Lots and lots of hops, but more tangy than bitter. Go find it. It’s amazing.

Stillwater Existent

Jolly Pumpkin E.S. Bam – A Michigan beer in honor of Wes Morgan, founder of DC beer club. Jolly Pumpkin is based in Dexter, MI.

Jim’s review of Rogue’s Brutal Bitter “Close relative of Harpoon IPA, not too simple but not the most complex thing in the world.”

Glazen Toren Saison d’Erpe Mere. Jim says, “light, sweet, fragrant but not too”

Xbeeriment Black Force One I thought this was delicious. Jim says, “chocolate is subtle, espresso is stronger”

Stone Sublimely Self-Righteous Ale At this point, we’d moved onto Churchkey on 14th at Rhode Island for “one more beer”. Except that you can’t really have one beer at an establishment with 50 on tap. My palate was a little dead, so I resorted to picking beers based on the name. The Sublimely Self-Righteous Ale turned out to be awesome, and I’m excited to get back to Churchkey over the long weekend to sample it again.

Jim’s favorite at Churchkey was Undercover Investigation Shut-down Ale “complex and satisfying”

A little background on beer club – Wes started it in early February, and then passed it on to me when he moved to Pittsburgh at the end of March. It was conceived as a club to “learn more about beer” but was mostly day drinking and talking about politics. Although our trip to Granville Moore’s (H St. NE), where our waiter had actually traveled to Belgium, was pretty educational. Beer club today revolves around my quest to drink a beer on every patio in Washington, DC this summer.

One thought on “beer club confidential

  1. So awesome. DC Beer Club is in great hands! Speaking of which, can we have a non-Saturday meeting of Beer Club the week after my wedding? I’ll be in DC!

Leave a Reply

