Restaurant Review: freshii

freshiiImage

1005 E St. NW

Washington, DC 20004

http://www.freshii.com

I stumbled across freshii on my way to work earlier this week. It might have been the bright green decor (used by restaurants to sooth anxious herbivores) or the giant kale poster in the window, but something told me I needed to know more.

Fortunately, they have a super user-friendly and informative website, including allergy and nutrition information for most everything on their menu. The only thing missing is information about their dressings and sauces…this is a bummer for folks with food allergies/intolerances, since that’s often where dairy or gluten ingredients hide.*

Since not very many things on the menu were both vegan and gluten-free, I started off trying to build my own bowl, got overwhelmed and decided to order a prepared bowl that was vegan. I’m not sure what my gluten situation is just yet, so I’m hoping whatever gluten thing is in the lemongrass dressing won’t do a great deal of damage.

Online ordering is easy and my pick up time was less than 20 minutes from when I placed the order. When I walked in, my order had just printed out, but since I was the only customer waiting, they got to work on it immediately. My Lemongrass Boost bowl was ready in under five minutes.

ImageTa-da! (Sorry that’s so blurry. I would retake it if I hadn’t eaten the shit out of it already.) Rice noodles, carrots, cucumber, sprouts, peanuts, scallions and slightly spicy lemongrass dressing. Adding protein (tofu) cost $1.49. Worth it. The veggies are crisp and fresh and there are a LOT of noodles in there. The tofu was maybe a little bland (and also not gf. Why isn’t tofu gluten-free? I don’t understand) but the whole thing is entirely delicious and satisfying.

I’m excited to have freshii in the neighborhood and to experiment with building my own bowls and salads. It’s really a relief to find a restaurant that’s up on multiple dietary needs and food allergies. If they get around to publishing allergy information about their dressings and sauces, I will be a customer for life.

*Well, there and veggie burgers. I will never understand why a restaurant will go to all the trouble of handcrafting a meatless burger and then throw a fucking egg in there to keep it together, so the end result isn’t vegan. Anyway.

Leave a Reply

