Lentil, cabbage and sweet potato curry

Because I love you, here is another Sunday recipe. I adapted from this recipe because I didn’t have all the ingredients. That one includes chard, which sounds brilliant, but I had a cabbage that I needed to do something with, so…

ImageI learned during the course of this recipe that I have really mixed feelings about cabbage. I think because I loved my Cabbage Patch Kids (RIP Sassy and the one whose name I never really settled on) eating cabbage feels a little bit like cannibalism. I didn’t feel right taking pictures of the cabbage massacre in my kitchen, and the final product is not very visually appealing, but damn is it tasty.

Here are the things you need: olive oil; 1 red onion; 1 good-sized sweet potato, diced (I used Oriental, but an orange one would have been prettier); 1/2 a small cabbage; 1 cup green lentils; 2 cloves of minced garlic; 1-in of fresh ginger, peeled and chopped; 1 tsp garam masala; 1 tsp curry powder; 1 vegetable bullion cube*; 1 bay leaf; water; salt and pepper to taste.

Step one: chop up about 2/3 of the red onion and saute it in a sauce pan with about a tbsp of olive oil.

Step two: when the onion starts to get translucent add the cabbage, garam masala, curry powder, ginger and garlic. I added a little extra oil at this step.

Step three: add two cups of water, the bullion cube, the sweet potato, the bay leaf and the lentils. Bring it to a boil.

Step four: put a lid on it but leave a good-sized gap for steam. Lower the temperature and simmer for about 30 minutes until everything is tender and delicious. Add salt and pepper.

Step five: while the curry is simmering, cook some rice. Or quinoa.

*I use Rapunzel vegan bullion with sea salt and herbs.

Leave a Reply

