Tweason’ale: It’s debatable!

And by that I mean I am drinking it while watching the second Presidential debate. On my couch. With my cat. I am not excited at all to share that I apparently have a case of shingles, which is not quite as terrifying as it sounds but is one of the more painful experiences of my short life. Shingles is cause by the same virus as chicken pox (or “pops” as we called them in my family) which is dormant in most people but can show up again in adults who are experiencing a lot of stress or immune system problems. I’m not sure what more I can do to reduce stress in my life, but here we are.

It’s not contagious except to people who’ve never had pops, but I decided on a voluntary quarantine until I can start taking the antivirals, since I have no idea which of my friends and colleagues haven’t had them. My sisters and I all had pops together when I was in Kindergarten. I think it was Jules who coined the term “pops.” She would have been three at the time.

Anyway, as Candy Crawley gets things underway at Hofstra, I wanted to do a quickie review of Dogfish Head’s Tweason’ale “A gluten-free sorghum-based ale brewed with strawberries & buckwheat honey.”

The website says:

“For our first new 12-ounce 4-packs in nearly half a decade, we replaced the classic barley foundation of beer with a mild sorghum base. The hints of molasses and pit-fruit are balanced by vibrant strawberry notes and a unique complexity that comes with the addition of a malty buckwheat honey.”

Paste Magazine says:

“The fruitiness of the strawberries is balanced by mild hoppy tones. Leave it to Dogfish Head to create an “off-centered” ale without gluten. One of the most interesting of the bunch, if not the most recognizably beer-like.”

Mari says:

Sigh. I miss 60-Minute. But this is good, if a little fruitier than I normally prefer. This I would drink by choice. It reminds me of a lambic. Also the label is adorable.

Leave a Reply

