Pain is painful

Good. Lord.

I’m watching the 3rd Presidential Debate and it’s just awful. In other news, I saw How to Survive a Plague tonight and it is absolutely amazing.

ImageAs far as my own personal plague is concerned, I still have the damn shingles and these fuckers hurt. It’s actually, literally unreasonable. By the time Saturday rolled in my body was over it. I got up and went to the gym and then had to take a two-hour rest. I managed to get out of the house again to get my haircut and then took another two-hour rest. And the anti-viral drugs are destroying my stomach. Since I didn’t feel up to doing anything Saturday night, I bribed my roommate to watch The X-files and drink wine with me by cooking an awesome dinner.

That’s about 1/3 of a red onion, a zucchini and two carrots, sauteed with a little olive oil, garlic, dried basil and rosemary. Once the vegetables were tender I added a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes and let the whole thing simmer together. I was going for a ratatouille effect but less labor intensive. Before I started the veggies, I put on some polenta, so by the time the sauce was finished, the polenta was nearly set. 

Imagelove Bob’s Red Mill products. Love. And his basic polenta recipe is almost perfect. I usually cook it with vegetable bullion instead of plain water and stir in Earth Balance at the end instead of butter. I am totally unashamed that I tweeted this photo at my roommate to convince him to come hang out with me. Quarantine does weird things to your brain. 

On Sunday, I was feeling stubborn. It was so gorgeous out and I went out to run a couple errands and saw pie pumpkins on display outside the Whole Foods on P St. I normally won’t go near that damn Whole Foods on a Sunday…but it was a perfect day for vegan pumpkin chili. So I texted the roommate and proposed a chili and pumpkin carving party. Two trips to Whole Foods and one Safeway run later, we had a homemade apple pie, an amazing pot of chili, three pumpkins and a crockpot full of mulled wine. And I was so exhausted I had to sit in my room and cry for twenty minutes. But I pulled it together and actually had a lot of fun carving pumpkins, telling ghost stories and watching episodes of Are You Afraid of the Dark? I made it until 11 pm and then I had to go lie down and promptly fell asleep.

I spent all day today in a contraception strategy meeting (it’s just about as exciting as it sounds) where I couldn’t eat anything but fruit. I knew it was going to be a rough day – I woke up with a full-on IBS episode, so I was already running late, and I didn’t really have any packable food on hand. I threw a packet of oatmeal and a couple rice cakes into my bag on the way out the door. I didn’t have access to hot water, so the oatmeal was a waste, but the rice cakes were genius – I transferred the contents of a vegan sandwich (cucumber, carrot, a slice of tomato and a little hummus) onto the rice cakes so lunch was less disappointing than it might have been. It still wasn’t much, so by 4:45 pm I booked it out of the meeting to grab food and make it back to the office for my 5:15 call. Roti is right next door to my office and has a couple gluten-free items; I can usually eat their falafel, too, although it’s not officially gf.

ImageA couple people have requested the vegan pumpkin chili recipe, so I will type that up for tomorrow. In the meantime, this is the ridiculously adorable pumpkin that gave his life so we could celebrate the season. I actually made Matt cut him in half because I had grown so attached in the two hours he’d been sitting there on the stove. But he was delicious.

Leave a Reply

