Vegan Yellowish Curry

I hate funky Sundays.

Sunday is supposed to be the best day of the week, but every once in a while, it just doesn’t work. In this case, my desire for relaxation and my need for productivity were at war, I was physically exhausted from my trip to California and there wasn’t any food in the house. Boo.

I was groggy when I woke up and it was too pretty outside to sleep, so I got up, ate some microwaveable vegan spring rolls and a packet of oatmeal (as I mentioned, the food situation was dire), did some work and managed to get myself out the door a little before noon. It was so, so gorgeous out and all I wanted to do was go back to bed.

ImageBut. I had this vision of yellow curry with tempeh. I went to lunch at Noodles on 11 with my friend Emily last Friday and had their vegetarian yellow curry with rice vermicelli. It was tasty and full of green goodness, if a little bland, and I kept thinking I could do it better. So my semi-functional brain and I headed to Yes! Organic Market (shop local!) for curry supplies.

It was there that I remembered I have no idea how to make yellow curry, so a quick Google search brought me to this recipe, which is the basis for what I ended up with. There were some hiccups along the way, like when I cut open the fresh ginger I bought and it was hollow and fur-filled in the center. And when I discovered at 8 pm that my roommate used up my carrots while I was out of town and didn’t bother to replace them…

So the final product is less like the presentation above and more like a bowl of slightly spicy, extra potatoey caramel-colored curry goodness. Here’s my recipe:

olive oil

1/2 yellow onion, finely chopped

2 tsp chopped garlic

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper

1 tsp ground coriander

2 tsp ground cumin

3/4 tsp ground turmeric

1/3 tsp ground white pepper

2 bay leaves

1 package tempeh

1/2 a vegetable bullion cube in 1/2 cup warm water

1 large broccoli crown chopped into bite-size pieces

2 Yukon Gold potatoes peeled and cubed (a normal person would use 1 potato, but potatoes are my favorite part of yellow curry so…)

1 14 oz can full-fat (yes!) coconut milk

3 tbsp wheat-free tamari

2 tbsp brown sugar

2 tbsp tomato paste

1 1/2 c frozen green beans

1/2 loose cup fresh cilantro

ImageOkay, by now you all know how much I love my big ikea pan. There is nothing I can’t cook in this pan. So bust out your kitchen superhero pan, on medium heat and then throw some olive oil in there. When it’s warm, add your onions and garlic. After your onions are soft, add all the spices, including the bay leaves. I added a little extra oil at this point. I never measure the oil, sorry.

Add the tempeh, chopped into bite-sized pieces, and the bullion and water. Saute them for a little bit, then add the potatoes and broccoli. This would also be the appropriate time to add your carrots, if you have them.

Add your coconut milk and bring the whole mixture to a low boil, then reduce your heat to low. As you simmer, add the tamari, brown sugar and tomato paste. This is when the curry turned from yellow to brownish… I thawed the green beans by running them under cold water in a colander, and added them while the curry simmered. This is the part where you can make your rice and hang out a bit. You basically want to simmer until the potatoes are soft. This left the broccoli with a little crunch, which I like. 

Add the cilantro once you’ve turned off the heat. Serve this over jasmine rice. This recipe made enough for a light dinner and three good-sized lunch portions. I’m leaving again on Thursday for another Leadership Institute (this time in Lawrence, KS) so I don’t need to worry about lunch for the end of the week.

2 thoughts on “Vegan Yellowish Curry

    • I think it’s easier – you can use it right out of the package. Also, the texture is chewier and not as spongy so people who are weirded out by tofu have an easier time with tempeh.

      If you’re fancy, you can steam it before you use it and then it absorbs flavors even more: http://vegansaurus.com/post/20169923104

Leave a Reply

