Does this blog make me look angsty?

Actually, don’t answer that.

It seems like everyone I know is “detoxing” today. Holidays, man. Too much everything and then you wake up on January 2 and you’re supposed to go to an office? Seriously?

Being home was hard. My baby sister is an amazing baker. Not a gluten-free or vegan baker at all, but white truffle cake balls? What am I supposed to say to that? Answer: nothing, because my mouth is full of cake ball. So I guess I am detoxing from eating all the things I shouldn’t have while on vacation.

Maybe you’re detoxing, too. Or maybe you’re cold. Or maybe you had to go back to work today and it was a lot less fun than vacation. Whatever your issue might be, I made you some fucking amazing soup. Here you go.

Carrot, Ginger and Butternut Squash Soup (vegan, gluten free)

Image

olive oil

about 1/4 cup purple onion, chopped

1/2 tsp or so chopped garlic

2 large carrots chopped

about a tsp fresh ginger, roughly chopped

3 cups of butternut squash (mine was frozen because I bought a bunch of precut squash at the Whole Foods before vacation and didn’t have time to use it all)

2 vegan bullion cubes

4 cups water

salt & pepper to taste

1 can chickpeas, rinsed & drained

So the cool thing about this soup is that you don’t have to chop things super small, because we’re going to puree them later. Those onion pieces are pretty big, and that’s okay. This is lazy person soup.

Image

Hea

t your ol

ive

oil in a big saucepan and add your garlic and onion. Saute until your onion is shiny and trans

lucent, about 10 minutes, while you chop your carrots and ginger and do some dishes.

Add the ginger and carrots. The carrots take longer than anything else to cook, so you don’t need them to be super soft, but let them cook a little before you add your frozen squash cubes.

Add the squash, bullion and water. I highly recommend investing in vegan bullion cubes. They take up way less space than cans of broth, and you will find all kinds of awesome uses for them.

I don’t like sweet butternut squash soup, so the broth and additional salt and pepper could be skipped if you prefer a sweeter end result. Plain water and allspice or nutmeg could be delicious. You do you.

So bring this whole mess to a boil, and then simmer for 20-30 minutes. You should be able to mash up the squash pretty well (see above) and once the carrots are soft, you’re good to go.

Image

Transfer your soup to the blender and puree. This step is unnecessary unless you don’t want your soup to look like vomit (again, see above). The effect we’re going for here is more like this:

So pretty. Post-blending, I added a can of chickpeas, because protein. You don’t have to do that either.

I made this to be lunch tomorrow, but I had several tastes to ensure quality at this point and damn. This might be my new favorite soup. In the future, I think I’d use more ginger; possibly adding powdered as well as fresh? Other than that I am super stoked.

ImageI don’t own a thermos, so sometimes I pretend I’m back in Santa Cruz and pack my lunch in an organic salsa jar. Gaia approves. This also gives you a rough Idea of how much soup this makes. That’s a 16 oz jar and a pretty big tupperware. So…three servings? You could probably feed four people if this was a side dish, unless you decide to just eat it all yourself, which I recommend.

In other news, I’ve decided to write a book. I read Mindy Kaling’s Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? last week, and while I totally enjoyed it, I kept thinking, I could have written this. But my book will be way less interesting because I don’t know Rainn Wilson or Amy Poehler.

Anyway, make yourself some soup. I don’t know if you heard but all of The West Wing is on Netflix Instant now, so you should probably get back to that.

Happy 2013!

2 thoughts on “Does this blog make me look angsty?

Leave a Reply

