Fixed it!

I am having a bad day. It’s Saturday night and I am googling mononucleosis symptoms, so that should give you some idea of how things are going. I had to work most of the day, although I did make it to the gym first. I have to say, it was pretty validating to be able to say “I had a lung infection” when the Master Trainer(TM) asked me where I’d been.

Anyway, the board meeting was four hours in the middle of the day, so I skipped lunch and then went out with my colleagues for a glass of wine when it was over. We had some fries with truffle oil and salted caramel popcorn (omg) but by the time I left, it was nearly 6 pm and I was desperate for a real meal. (I was also in a fair amount of pain – there’s a gland in my throat that’s been bothering me, and today it’s hurting every time I swallow.)

Image

Riiiiiiiight…

Knowing I had very little food in the house, I had planned to stop by Busboys and Poets on the way home – Busboys is one of the few restaurants in DC that has reliable vegan options, and their vegan nachos are both gluten-free and delicious. They’re also no longer available for takeout orders, which was crushing, given my state of mind. The Chipotle next door had a line to the door, so I ended up at Sweetgreen. Raw greens are not easy for me on a good day, and even though I ordered a salad that included quinoa and tofu, what I got was basically a bowl of raw spinach and kale.

So now I’m near tears from pain and frustration and I’ve got a useless $8 salad. (Also, yes, this post is whiny, privileged b.s. It’s supposed to be about how I’m dealing with IBS though, so I’m getting to that next.)

 

 

 

Image

Starting to look more digestible…

Step One: Throw on some quinoa.

Step Two: Heat some oil in a wok and add the giant salad. I covered the wok and let this cook down for about five minutes on medium heat. It turned into two good-sized servings of vegetables. As you can see, there wasn’t much quinoa to speak of in the original salad.

Step Three: Open a can of garbanzo beans, drain and rinse.

Step Four: Combine about a cup of cooked quinoa, 1/2 a cup of garbanzo beans, about 1/2 the veggies and a tablespoon of nutritional yeast in a bowl.

 

 

Image

Ta-da!

Step Five: Enjoy your IBS-friendly “salad.”

This turned out to be pretty damn delicious, although a lot more labor intensive than I had originally planned for this evening. I’m supposed to be meeting friends to celebrate someone’s new job, but I’m waiting for the pain killers to kick in. Either that, or I’m spending a rockin’ Saturday night on the couch watching The Tudors.

Leave a Reply

