Hashtag: Winning

I like cooking because I like the ritual of it. Selecting ingredients, peeling and chopping, starting with sauteed onions and garlic and filling the house with those smells. I like recipes because they add to the ritual. There ares steps to complete and an order for them and an expected outcome so you know whether or not you did it right. It’s rare that I freestyle in the kitchen, but last week I did a random trip to the Safeway for sandwich bags and I came home with an eggplant, broccoli, cilantro and no real plan. The good news is, this turned out awesome.

ImageVeggies, rice noodles and cilantro miso pesto:

This recipe required three simultaneous operations, so I recommend it for an evening when your roommate is out and you have the kitchen to yourself. Also recommended: chop everything, including the cilantro before you start cooking.

You need:

Rice noodles (good recipes for IBS require a solid carb base. Feel free to replace this with rice, quinoa, or couscous (if you can do gluten))

Olive oil
About ¼ to ⅓ cup yellow onion, chopped
Garlic, chopped
1 pkg firm tofu, pressed and cubed
1 average sized broccoli crown, chopped into bite-sized florets
About ½ an eggplant, cubed
1 cup frozen peas (you can use fewer peas, if you want. I just really like peas)
Sea salt
White pepper

1 bunch cilantro
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp white miso
½ tsp chopped garlic
note: I meant to add a tbsp of nutritional yeast to this and I forgot. I’ll try this again soon and let you know how it goes.

Start the water for your rice noodles first; cook according to package directions.

Heat the oil in a large pan or wok and add your garlic and onion. I added the tofu at when the onion was translucent, and I should have added the eggplant then, too. Cook for about 20 minutes (I like my eggplant pretty mushy) and then add the broccoli.

While your veggies are cooking, combine the cilantro and other ingredients for the pesto in a food processor. Process.

Combine your noodles, veggies and pesto in a bowl. Add additional salt if necessary. This should be enough for two people. I kept wandering back into the kitchen and picking at it though, so I ended up polishing it off in one evening over a couple hours. For next time, I might actually double the pesto recipe and serve this over corn spaghetti.

One thought on “Hashtag: Winning

Leave a Reply

