It’s like it’s your birthday or something

Image

New! And $8.99 at the Yes! Market on 14th

I made you cookies! l think the chilly weather has made me nesty – I have been talking about baking for weeks and baked exactly zero things. So I came home from work last Tuesday with two objectives:

  1. Try the daiya fire-roasted vegetable pizza that I picked up over the weekend and
  2. Bake some gd cookies.

So exhibit A is daiya’s new gluten-free and vegan pizza. I am starting with a picture on the box so you can see what this was supposed to look like. The small print below the “new” sticker says gluten free, lactose free, soy free and cholesterol 0mg per serving. ALSO this vegetable pizza does not have mushrooms as a topping, thank you jesus. One thing about this pizza is that it has to cook at 500 degrees. Which just seems like a LOT of degrees to me, but it only cooks for 11 minutes, so maybe the pizza people at daiya are impatient and they want to their pizza FAST.

Anyway, the instructions specifically say to cook for 11-15 minutes but to check at 11. So I throw the pizza in the oven and start putting my cookies together.

You probably see where this is going by now.

Image

I promise it tasted better than it looks here.

Eleven minutes later, I open the oven and realized that 500 really IS a lot of degrees. My fire alarm agreed.

The good news is, except for the burnt bits around the edges, the pizza is super tasty. The grilled veggies are flavorful, the sauce is garlicy but not over-powering and the daiya is gooey as expected. I would buy this again for sure, but experiment with a lower oven temp and watch it more closely.

Anyway. Cookies.

I took a trip to Costco a while back and scored a very large jar of almond butter. I really like almond butter but this was a pretty big jar. So I’ve been meaning to do something interesting with it. I found this recipe via Google and decided it would be easy to make gluten free. I made a couple of additional adjustments – raisins instead of cranberries and no chocolate chips because I didn’t feel like making an extra trip to the store.

You need:

  • 1 cup Bob’s Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour
  • 1/4 tsp Bob’s xanthan gum
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup almond butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup Bob’s Gluten-Free Extra Thick rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup raisins
IMG_2134

The dough is pretty gooey. And delicious.

So. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease your baking sheets.

Mix together your dry ingredients (Bob’s thru cinnamon) and set aside. Combine your almond butter and brown sugar – the original recipe says to use a mixer. I tried this and it was a bit messy on such a small amount of stuff, so I switched to some really aggressive wooden spoon mixing and I think it was fine. Anyway. Add your milk & vanilla to the almond butter mixture. Then add your dry ingredients.

Once that’s thoroughly combined, fold in your oats & raisins. Bake for about 12 minutes (check at 10; my cookies needed just a bit more time).

The result is a thick chewy cookie that is  not super sweet. One of my co-workers said “I like the things you bake because I can eat them for breakfast.” I think having chocolate and cranberries in here might have been a different story, but the oatmeal raisin combo does taste less cookie-like and more like an energy bar, maybe.

IMG_2136

Love a homemade cookie that tastes good and doesn’t hurt my stomach.

Also, I don’t think extra-thick rolled oats are the best for these cookies. (I’m actually not a fan of them, but the Yes! Market doesn’t carry any other gf variety.) The oats were just super big and didn’t soften up much in the baking process. Verdict: these are my favorite gf cookies so far. The almond butter keeps them from turning out overly dry, and while they don’t taste very dessert-like, they’re very snackable.

My ladyfriend took some to work to share with a colleague who has IBS and she really appreciated that they’re totally IBS safe. Spreading the love.

Leave a Reply

