Bakin’ cookies, watchin’ Bomb Girls, drinkin’ bourbon

So my ladyfriend is spending Thanksgiving in Connecticut and it’s super cold and miserable in DC and I already wish I could crawl into bed and stay there till March.

Zelda has the right idea

Zelda has the right idea

So I’m just gonna go ahead and make desserts until I feel better about my life. First up were these No-Bake Chai Spiced Pumpkin Bars. I don’t have a photo of them, but they’re easy and great and I’m going to make them again for Thanksgiving on Thursday. They’re not overly sweet, which I really like. Also, for Thanksgiving, I have volunteered to make mashed potatoes, a lentil soup, and polenta with broccoli. I realized today that I have never actually made mashed potatoes, which is a little embarrassing, but…how hard can it be?

Anyway. I had to buy coconut flour for the pumpkin bars, and naturally, coconut flour costs $9 for 1 lb but I only needed 2 tbsp for the pumpkin bars (of course). So. I found this recipe for gluten-free Vanilla Almond Sugar Cookies on the back of the coconut flour package (thanks, Bob!) and they are amazing. They’re light, and chewy and sweet – these are not breakfast cookies. So if you want to bake something kind of awesome for a gluten-free someone special (and your gluten-free self!), these are highly recommended. Okay:

IMG_2236

Cookies!

Vanilla Almond Sugar Cookies, courtesy Bob’s Red Mill Natural Foods, Inc.

  • 1 c sugar
  • 1/2 c margarine (I used Earth Balance*)
  • 1/3 c vanilla almond milk (I used unsweetened)
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 c white rice flour
  • 1/3 c coconut flour
  • 2 tbsp arrowroot starch
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 c sliced almonds

Preheat your oven to 350.

Cream together your Earth Balance and sugar, and beat** (or stir) for two minutes. Add vanilla and almond milk and beat/stir for an additional minute. *Earth Balance can get a little melty at room temperature, which makes the cookies come out kind of flat. I stored my EB/sugar/milk mixture in the fridge till I was ready to combine it with the dry ingredients, and I was really happy with the result.

In a separate bowl, combine dry ingredients (except for the almonds). Add your dry ingredients to you wet ingredients, and once they’re well mixed, add your almonds. The batter is really moist. It will seem too moist. Do not feel stressed. It will be awesome.

Place rounded tablespoons of dough on your greased cookie sheet and bake for 10-12 minutes.

IMG_2237

Gratuitous texture shot.

The cookies inflate kind of magically to like twice the size of the rounded tablespoon. And then they’re super light so you might sometimes eat three of them while you’re cooking dinner because oops.

**Oh right. The original recipe calls for an electric mixer. I HATE electric mixers. I like spoons. I think I used a fork for the creaming and then just stuck with the forking because it seemed to work just fine for all the other combining in this recipe. So. Beat or mix. You do you. But don’t use the beater on your dry ingredients. Or actually do, and then send me a photo of the results.

 

Leave a Reply

