How did people plan meals before Google?

I mean, I know the answer to that question. But how awesome is it to google a couple random ingredients and get inspired to spend a rainy Sunday cooking something amazing?

For context, I got home from Puerto Rico late last Sunday night, worked all week and had events every night after work, so takeout and dinners out have been my life for the past several weeks. I finally made it to the grocery store Saturday and brought home a bunch of random things I felt like eating but with no real plan.

ImageEnter Google. And this recipe for sweet potato and black bean enchiladas from Vegetarian Times. I wasn’t feeling ambitious enough for enchiladas and I didn’t have all the ingredients so this is both a gluten-free/vegan/IBS-friendly version AND a lazy person’s version. But it’s pretty damn good. Here’s what you need.

  • 1/2 a yellow onion
  • 1 sweet potato
  • 1 can diced tomatoes, drained
  • 1 tsp minced garlic (1-2 cloves)
  • about 1 cup water
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast

Dice your onions and sweet potato.

Saute the onion until it’s soft, then add the sweet potatoes, tomatoes, garlic, 1/2 cup water and the spices. Bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer. Simmer for about 40 minutes, until your sweet potatoes are soft. You may need to add a bit more water as it cooks down (I added about 1/2 a cup, 1/4 at a time). 

Mash the sweet potatoes, stir in black beans, and cook for about 5 more minutes. Stir frequently – the mixture will be thick, so it may splatter if it simmers.

Remove from heat and stir in nutritional yeast. Top with chipotle hot sauce if that works for you.

Image

This is a pretty versatile product – I had it as a taco filling, and I’m looking forward to eating it over quinoa for lunch this week. I’m also picturing it as a topping for vegan nachos with some melted daiya… in any case, I’m feeling excited about cooking again, so that’s fun.

In other news, my lady and I checked out a couple of the DC restaurants on my wish list this weekend. We got takeout from Woodlands Vegan Bistro Friday night and visited Rasoi Indian Kitchen on Saturday. Both were amazing and I’m especially excited to find an Indian restaurant where I can eat without getting sick.

I have several more posts in the works, including/especially updates about my trip to Puerto Rico, but I just figured out how to access my photos from Dropbox, so those will have to wait until later this week. 

 

Leave a Reply

