What’s inspiring me today

IMG_1207

Morning after a storm in my neighborhood, March 2013

I love this post from the blog Headed Somewhere. I’ve been feeling tired and burned out and frustrated for no good reason, and these 10 ways to be happier in your own home actually feel doable.

  1. Make your bed.
  2. Bring every room back to “ready.”
  3. Display sentimental items around your home.
  4. Start a one-line-a-day gratitude journal.
  5. If you can’t get out of it, get into it.
  6. Before you get up each morning, set an intent for the day.
  7. Do small favors for your housemates, expecting nothing in return (not even a thank you!).
  8. Call at least one friend or family member a day.
  9. Spend money on things that cultivate experiences at home.
  10. Spend a few minutes each day connecting with something greater than yourself.

So you can read more details on each of these things on the original post, but I’m working to integrate each of these things into my life. My roommate finally moved out a month ago, and I’ve been working on reclaiming the apartment and making it a space that’s comfortable for me. I haven’t lived along since 2009, and it’s a different experience to have the space and the financial resources to really inhabit it. It’s actually a bit overwhelming. Making a decision about a new shower curtain took me weeks of online shopping, and I finally found what I needed for $19.99 at Target.

In addition to figuring out my own space, I’ve been thinking a lot about my role at work, and how it’s changing as the team I oversee grows. I’ve had to let go of some of the things I’ve always been in charge of, and  it’s opened up new possibilities, which is exciting and also overwhelming.

2014-10-05 18.14.58-1

Homemade dill pickles – my lady’s fall canning odyssey continues.

Anyway, I’ve got the day off today and it’s raining and gross out, so I’m hoping to do some deep cleaning and to spend some time in the kitchen. I’ve been stuck in a ridiculous cold cereal, toast, Amy’s frozen meals rut. It’s gross, and I’ve been feeling gross because of it. I’m excited to dig out my rainboots and wander over to Whole Foods.

 

Leave a Reply

